Wednesday, August 23, 2017
Official Website for Oconee County

Homestead Exemptions

 Homestead Exemption Information (click here to print brochure)

  1. You must hold complete fee simple title or life estate to your primary residence.
  2. As of December 31, preceding the tax year of the exemption, I
    • was a legal resident of South Carolina for one year
  3. As of December 31, preceding the tax year of the exemption, I
    • was 65 years of age which means you or your spouse if married must be 66 years of age the year you qualify, or
    • was declared totally and permanently disabled by a state or federal agency having the authority to make such a declaration, or
    • was legally blind as certified by a licensed ophthalmologist.

If statements 1, 2 and 3 are true, you are qualified to receive the Homestead Exemption.

Surviving Spouse Benefit

The surviving spouse of a qualified or potentially qualified Homestead recipient may also receive the benefit if:

  • You are the surviving spouse of a qualified Homestead recipient.
  • You are the surviving spouse of a person who was not otherwise qualified for the Homestead Exemption but failed to make application in the year that they would have received the exemption at the time of his/her death.

If you remarry, you will lose the surviving spouse benefit for the Homestead Exemption unless you would otherwise qualify.

When can I apply for the Homestead Exemption on my primary residence?

The Oconee County Homestead Coordinator may accept applications during the following periods:

  • Pre-application Period
    • After your 65th birthdate or classified 100% disabled or legally blind, apply between July 16th and December 31st.  
  • Application Period
    • The year after you turned 65 or classified 100% disabled or legally blind, apply between January 1st and July 15th. 
  • Post-application Period
    • Apply between July 16th and before the first penalty date of the tax year that the exemption can first be claimed.
  • If you apply during the post-application period and you qualify, you may be eligible for a refund for the preceding year.  

Where do I apply?

You may apply for the Homestead Exemption at our office.  If you are unable to come to our office, an agent can make application on your behalf.  If no one is available, please contact our Homestead Coordinator at (864) 638-4158.

What documents are needed?

Proof of your eligibility is required.

  1. If you are applying due to age, bring your South Carolina Driver's License or a SC issued identification card or if you have neither, bring your birth certificate.   You will also be required to furnish us your Social Security number.
  2. If you are applying due to disability, you will need to present documentation from the state or federal agency certifying the disability and your South Carolina Driver’s License or South Carolina Identification.  Please make sure the statement you provide shows the date that you became disabled.
  3. If you are applying due to blindness, you will need to present documentation from a licensed ophthalmologist and your photo Identification.

Do I need to re-apply annually?

No, it is not necessary to reapply annually, unless there is a change of ownership as a result of death, a change in occupancy of the home qualified, or you move to another residence.

When is it necessary to reapply?

  • Change in disability status
  • Change in ownership
  • Rental of your home
  • Remarriage of the surviving spouse

What is the benefit?

The Homestead Exemption exempts the first $50,000 value of your residence from property taxes.

Assistance

The Oconee County Homestead Exemption Coordinator will be glad to answer any questions regarding eligibility status and application procedures.  Please call (864) 638-4158 if you have any questions.


AircraftAppealsBusiness Personal Property FAQsDirections to Tax CenterForfeited Land Commission FormsFrequently Asked QuestionsHigh Mileage AppealHomestead ExemptionsHow to SaveMilitary ExemptionsMillageProperty Tax DefinitionsPublic Access ComputersTax Estimate CalculatorVehicle Registration
     CMS Management and Original Design by Net Doctors
Login