

MINUTES OCONEE COUNTY COUNCIL MEETING Regular Meeting January 2, 2018

MEMBERS, OCONEE COUNTY COUNCIL Mr. Paul Cain, District III Mr. Wayne McCall, District II Ms. Edda Cammick, District I Mr. Julian Davis III, District IV Mr. Glenn Hart, District V

Oconee County Council met at 6:00 PM in Council Chambers, 415 South Pine Street, Walhalla, SC with all Council Members, County Administrator Scott Moulder, County Attorney David Root, and Katie D. Smith, Clerk to Council present.

Press: Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, notice of the meeting, date, time, place of meeting and agenda were posted on the bulletin board at the County Administrative Offices, 415 South Pine Street, Walhalla, SC, and the County Council website [www.oconeesc.com/council]. In addition it was made available [upon request] to the newspapers, radio stations, television stations and concerned citizens.

Members of the press present: Norm Cannada / Daily Journal.

Call to Order

Mr. Root called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Mr. Root presided over the meeting pending the election of a new chairperson.

Public Comment Session

Mr. Albert Shuler addressed Council utilizing a handout [copy filed with these minutes] regarding death and suicide investigations.

County Council Response to Public Comment

None at this meeting.

Moment of Silence

Mr. Root asked for a moment of silence prior the Invocation by the County Chaplain.

Invocation by County Council Chaplain:

Mr. Root, County Council Chaplain, gave the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance:

Mr. Tom Markovich led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Approval of Minutes:

Ms. Cammick made a motion, seconded by Mr. Davis, approved 5 - 0 to approve the December 19, 2017 meeting minutes as presented.

Presentation to Council / Luther Lyle / Oconee Town Acquisition

Mr. Luther Lyle, Director and Curator of Museum of the Cherokee in South Carolina, addressed Council utilizing a handout [copy filed with these minutes and copy of "Oconee Town Acquisition Celebration" on DVD and also on Oconee County YouTube channel "Your Oconee"].

Discussion continued to include but not limited to:

- 4,000 visited the museum in 2016
- Part time employee on Thursday, Friday, & Saturday and visitation has quadrupled since her arrival
- Will also open other days of the week
- More visitors from Cherokee Nation

Mr. Davis thanked Mr. Lyle for what he does and noted how big of an impact it has had on our area.

Election of Officers

Council Chairperson

Mr. McCall nominated Ms. Cammick as Council Chairperson. Mr. Cain nominated Mr. Davis as Chairperson. Mr. Root called for the vote. Ms. Cammick was elected Council Chairperson on a 3-2 [Mr. Davis & Mr. Cain opposed] vote.

The meeting was then turned over to Ms. Cammick to preside as chair.

Council Vice Chairperson

Mr. Cain nominated Mr. Davis, approved 5 - 0, as Council Vice Chairperson.

Council Chairperson Pro Tem

Mr. Davis nominated Mr. Cain as Council Chairperson Pro Tem. Mr. McCall nominated Mr. Hart as Council Chairperson Pro Tem. Ms. Cammick called for the vote. The vote **failed** 2 - 3 [Ms. Cammick, Mr. Hart, & Mr. McCall opposed] for Mr. Cain as Council Chairperson Pro Tem. Mr. Hart was elected Council Chairman Pro Tem on a 3 - 2 [Mr. Davis & Mr. Cain opposed] vote.

Appointment/Re-Appointment of the following Appointed Officials

Clerk to Council

Ms. Cammick made a motion, seconded by Mr. Davis, approved 5 - 0, to reappoint Ms. Katie D. Smith as Clerk to County Council.

County Chaplain

Ms. Cammick made a motion, seconded by Mr. Cain, approved 5 - 0, to re-appoint Mr. Root as the County Chaplin.

Appointment of Council Committees for 2018 by Chairman

Mr. Cammick made a nomination, approved unanimously, to approve the following County Council Committee appointments as made by Ms. Cammick.

- Budget, Finance & Administration
 - Ms. Cammick as Chairperson; committee consists of all Council members.

- Law Enforcement, Public Safety, Health & Welfare Mr. McCall as Chairperson; Mr. Davis and Mr. Hart as committee members.
- Planning & Economic Development
 - Mr. Cain as Chairperson; Mr. Davis and Mr. Hart as committee members.
- Real Estate, Facilities & Land Management
 - Mr. Davis as Chairperson; Mr. McCall and Ms. Cammick as committee members.
- Transportation
 - Mr. Hart as Chairperson; Mr. Davis and Ms. Cammick as committee members.

Appointment of 2018 Council Representatives by Chairman

Mr. Cain made a nomination, approved unanimously, to approve the following Council Representative appointments as made by Ms. Cammick.

- SC Appalachian Council of Government Board of Directors Ms. Cammick [reappointment]
- Oconee Business Education Mr. Davis [re-appointment]
- Ten At The Top [TATT] Board of Directors Mr. Eldridge [re-appointment]

Ms. Cammick noted there is a need to find a replacement for the minority representative for the Appalachian Council of Government.

2018 Meeting Schedule Establishment for Council / Committees County Council

Mr. Davis made a motion, seconded by Mr. Cain, approved 5 - 0, to approve the 2017 County Council meeting schedule as submitted. [Copy filed with these minutes.]

Council Committees

Mr. Davis made a motion, seconded by Mr. McCall, approved 5 - 0, to approve the Council Committee meeting schedule as submitted. [Copy filed with these minutes.]

Administrator's Report & Agenda Summary

Mr. Moulder briefly reviewed with Council and for the public's benefit specifics related to the following matters before Council at this meeting:

• Letter of Support for JAG LEO Equipment Grant application

Discussion Regarding Action Items

Letter of Support for JAG LEO Equipment Grant application

Mr. Davis made a motion, seconded by Mr. Cain, approved 5 - 0, to approve the letter of support for JAG LEO Equipment Grant application.

Board & Commission Appointments

Building Codes Appeal Board

No nominations were made.

Conservation Bank Board

No nominations were made.

Board of Zoning Appeals

No nominations were made.

Old / Unfinished Business:

Mr. McCall asked Mr. Moulder to put signs up at the convenience centers reminding citizens to recycle their cardboard.

New Business:

None discussed at this meeting.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Mr. Davis made a motion, approved unanimously 5 - 0, to adjourn at 6:28 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Katie D. Smith Clerk to Council