



PLANNING COMMISSION

415 S. Pine St. Room 212 | Walhalla, SC 29691 864.638.4218 OconeeSC.com

COMMISSION MEMBERS

Mike Johnson, Chairman, At-Large Teresa Spicer, District 1 Joe Fravel, District 4 Mickey Haney, At-Large David Nix, Vice Chair, District 2 Brit Adams, District 3 Jake Marcengill, District 5

STAFFJames Coley
Elise Dunaway

MINUTES

6:00 pm, Monday, February 3, 2025 Council Chambers - Oconee County 415 S. Pine St, Walhalla SC 29691

- 1. Call to Order Mr. Johnson called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.
- 2. Invocation was led by Mr. Root.
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Haney.
- 4. Approval of minutes from January 6, 2025 Mr. Adams made a motion to approve the minutes; Seconded by Mr. Nix. Approved Unanimously.
- 5. Election of Officers

Mr. Nix nominated Mr. Johnson as Chairman of the Planning Commission. Approved unanimously.

Mr. Haney nominated Mr. Nix as Vice Chairman of the Planning Commission. Approved Unanimously.

Mr. Johnson nominated Mr. Coley as Secretary of the Planning Commission. Approved Unanimously.

- Public Comment for <u>Non-Agenda Item</u>s (4 minutes per person):
 Mr. Tom Markvoich voiced his opinion regarding retaining walls within the setbacks.
- 7. Commission Member Comments:

Mr. Nix welcomed Mr. Fravel and Mr. Marcengill to the Planning Commission.

Mr. Haney thanked Mr. Markovich for attending the meeting and requested the public to attend meetings more often.

Mr. Johnson hopes to continue moving forward in the coming year and continue to make improvements where needed in Oconee County.

OCONEE COUNTY

PLANNING COMMISSION

415 S. Pine St. Room 212 | Walhalla, SC 29691 864.638.4218 OconeeSC.com

- 8. Discussion regarding the Scenic Highway Ordinance and potential changes or amendments.
 - a. Public Comment
 - b. Discussion/vote

Mr. Nix made a motion to approve the ordinance as written with the included amendment; Seconded by Mr. Haney. Approved Unanimously.

Mr. Johnson made an amendment to the motion that in the application Mr. Root include that the applicant is to be contacted by the county if complaints are being received and include a 45-day response period; Seconded by Mr. Adams. Approve Unanimously.

9. Adjourn – the meeting was adjourned at 6:24 PM.